NZSHCD - New Zealand Society of Hospital and Community Dentistry

Executive Committee

President: Dr Neil Stephen

Dr Stephen is the Clinical Head of Department for Community Dental Services Hutt Valley DHB.

Dr Stephen was elected as President of the NZSHCD executive committee in 2012, after serving two years as Vice President.

He graduated in 1980 BDS from Otago University and in 1991 completed postgraduate study in restorative dentistry and graduated MDS (with distinction) from Otago University in 1993.

Dr Stephen has spent years in both the public system and in private dental practice, he also spent six years in the New Zealand Defence Force.

Immediate Past President: Dr Tim MacKay

Dr Mackay graduated from the University of Otago in 1989, and has since completed his training as a Dental Public Health specialist at the University of Otago as well as obtaining his fellowship with the Royal Australasian College of Dental Surgeons.

Dr Mackay has worked in private dental practice, the New Zealand Defence Force and for the last 15 years for the now Southern District Health Board. He is currently the Clinical Director for Oral Health Services for the DHB. He recently completed a secondment to the Ministry of Health as acting Chief Dental Officer.

Vice President: Dr Rose Mary Jones

Dr Jones is a consultant in Oral Medicine for Capital Coast DHB at Wellington Hospital. Dr Jones graduated from the University of Newcastle upon Tyne gaining fellowship of the Royal College of Surgeons of Edinburgh and then fellowship of the Royal College of Pathologists. She is a founding fellow of the faculty of Oral Pathology of the Royal College of Pathologists of Australasia.

She has worked at Wellington Hospital since 1985, first as a pathologist, and for the last 14 years as a consultant in Oral Medicine.

Secretary / Treasurer: Dr Phil Marshall

Dr Marshall is Clinical Director of Dental Services for Mid Central DHB.

Dr Marshall has been associated with the NZSHCD since 1994 and has held the position of Secretary/Treasurer for the last nine years.

Graduating BDS from Otago University in 1980, in 1998 Dr Marshall completed a post graduate diploma in Public Health from Otago University, Wellington School of Medicine.

Dr Marshall is also the Dental Advisor to the Wairarapa DHB and currently holds the position as Vice President of the New Zealand School & Community Oral Health Services Society (NZSCOHSS).

North Island reps:

Dr Robin Whyman

Dr Whyman is a Dental Specialist in Public Health Dentistry for Hutt Valley DHB. He was an NZSHCD executive member from 1995 – 2003 and in 2010 was elected as North Island representative.

Dr Whyman is a specialist in public health dentistry and a general dentist with a focus on paediatric dentistry, special needs dentistry and general dentistry for high needs patients.

Completing a BDS from Otago University in 1986 and a Master of Community Dentistry from Otago University in 1993, Dr Whyman also earned a fellowship to the Royal Australasian College of Dental Surgeons (FRACDS) in 1991 and a second FRACDS in Dental Public Health in 2011.

Dr Kathryn Fuge

Dr Fuge is a Senior Dentist at Hutt Valley DHB and was elected as a North Island representative in July 2010.

Dr Fuge has a BSc in Physiology and BDS from Otago University and is currently in her final year of a Masters in community dentistry. She is a specialist in children and special needs dentistry.

Dr Anna Dawson

Dr Dawson is a new addition to the NZSHCD executive team.

Dr Dawson qualified with a BDS from Otago University in 1999 and has worked in special needs and hospital based services in New Zealand, Australia and the United Kingdom for the last 12 years.

She is a dentist for the Auckland District Health Board, where she has worked for more than three years.

South Island Reps:

Dr Tule Fanakava Misa

Dr Misa is a public health dentist working as a community dentist for Community Dental Services at Canterbury DHB. She has been a South Island representative on the executive committee for more than a year.

Dr Misa graduated BDS in 1998 from the University of South Pacific and worked as a dentist in Tonga for four years, she attended Otago University in 2002 where she earned a postgraduate Diploma in Clinical Dentistry and set his NZREX in 2003, Dr Misa completed her MComdent in 2010.

She has worked part time in private practice for two years and for Canterbury DHB for over six years.

Dr Roby Beaglehole

Dr Beaglehole has been a member of the executive committee since July 2012. He is Principal Dental Officer and Senior Dentist for the Nelson Marlborough District Health Board (NMDHB).

Dr Beaglehole specialises in dental public health and has worked in dental services for more than 15 years. He has earned a BSc in Physiology and a BDS from Otago University. He also holds a MSc in Dental Public Health.

Chair of the Oral Health Advisory Group to the NMDHB, he is also a member of the NZDA political lobby group and is the Tobacco Control Advisor to the NZDA.